Zao Makeup Silk Foundation, Lip Polish and Nail Polish Review/Swatch


Today I am going to review Zao Makeup Essence Of Nature. Zao Makeup is a brand that is vegan, gluten-free, cruelty free and uses biodegradable reusable packaging and is certified by Ecocert, CosmoBio, Cruelty free international and campaign for safe cosmetics. I just love Zao bamboo packaging. I had the opportunity to choose some products to try and review on my blog and I have picked up Nail Polish 648 Jade, Lip Polish 031 Burgundy and Silk Foundation 703 and 704. Silk Foundation shades picked up by lovely people at Zao for me so that I can get best colour match to my skin.

A little bit about Zao Makeup…….At the heart of organic make-up is David Reccole, Founder of Zao. Inspired by a natural gift received from a Taiwanese friend (A pen and pencil made in bamboo material), David was inspired to use Bamboo for organic make-up. The round shape of the Bamboo gift is the same as the make-up castings produced today. From this point, the brand was born using Bamboo both for casing and formulations. Aside from its beauty, Bamboo is very specific for its high level of silica – Ideal for skin elasticity. The first brand with such a connection between outside and inside, such as true beauty! ZAO has developed 100% natural formulas enriched with active organic ingredients.

Zao Makeup products come in a lovely organic pouch and inside you will find that the packing itself is made of bamboo. The bamboo theme continues as one of the ingredient in the products too. Another great thing about these products is that they are refillable – you could simply buy another of your favourite shade or product, fit it in and there you go!

Zao Silk Foundation 703 and 704

Zao Silk Foundation comes in a 30ml glass bottle with bamboo lid on top. This Silk Foundations comes in 6 shades. The consistency is not too thick, almost gel like in my opinion, and it has quite a pleasant scent. The finish is a semi-matte. The light texture of ZAO silk foundation makes application easier and respond to those who want a natural complexion. This is also suitable for who have a sensitive skin. Besides organic silica contained in bamboo hydrosol, organic sweet almond oil, jojoba and shea butter give this foundation a deep moisturizing effect and a luminous complexion. Slightly powdery finish and uniform coverage for a long-lasting throughout the day.

Both the shades 703 and 704 match to my skin tone. The shade 704 is slight dark but I am using 704 shade on my forehead corners and below the cheek bone area to contour them. 703 shade is perfect match to my skin tone. So far, I’m blown away by the foundation for its semi-matte finish, long wear and light weight texture. It actually loses its matte-ness through wear and becomes more natural looking. It does not separate or look blotchy after hours of wear and it actually feels very light on the skin. Sometimes I feel like I don’t want to go outside without makeup but same time I don’t want to show that I have put lots of layers of foundation. This Silk Foundation is so perfect and it is barely visible and natural-looking on the skin. I like to apply powder on foundation to finish up the application and it sets everything nicely on face. This foundation did last a good six to seven hours without needing any attention. I am really happy with the results.

Zao Lip Polish 031 Burgundy

Zao Lip Polish comes in a beautiful bamboo 5ml tube! I absolutely adore the packaging. I was most excited to try this Lip Polish as colour is just so gorgeous. The Lip Polish is described as a lip lacquer which is opaque and glossy on the lips. The applicator is a doe foot type applicator and I am really impressed with how pigmented it is! One swipe and I got a nice opaque lustrous coat of color on my lips.

I really enjoy wearing this lip polish and it does not bleed outside the lip line and it is very light weight and very comfortable on lips. The thing most I loved about this lip polish is that it is non sticky. This burgundy shade is perfect for all skin tone. You can also use this lip polish on top of a lipstick. As far as the staying capacity is concerned, I think the lip polish did a good job! The shine did wear off with eating and drinking throughout the day but the color did stick around. Overall, I am impressed with the lip polish! It does not dry out my lips and is not so over moisturizing that it feels slippery and goopy.

Zao Nail Polish 648 Jade

Zao Nail Polish come in a 8ml glass bottle with bamboo lid on top. I am now just fan of Zao Makeup packaging. Simply Gorgeous! Zao Nail Polish is enriched with bamboo oil, which is rich in regenerating and strengthening silica. Nail polish is notoriously difficult to produce organically, and water-based nail polishes chip very easily. Unlike the rest of Zao brand, the nail polish is not organic and 100% natural. However, it is non-toxic, with some non-toxic synthetic additives to make the polish usable and durable. 90% odour free, safe and durable, this nail polish is safe for all but those with multiple chemical sensitivities. Ideal for those who require a long-lasting nail polish but want to avoid harmful toxins that damage the body.

Jade is a deliciously deep and rich green colour, it is dusty blue based green. This colour is perfect for Fall season. The texture is creamy and gives glossy finish. The formula of this nail polish is just perfect not too runny or thick. The brush is flat and wide and easy to apply with on nails, one dip covers my entire nail. With two coats I got opaque coverage. Drying time between 2 coats wasn’t long either. I got a wear time of about 4 days, after that it started wearing off the tips. I think 4 days of wear time is good. The glossiness maintained throughout the wear time and it looked creamy throughout.

Overall I am really impressed with all 4 Zao Makeup products. Packaging is gorgeous. I easily can recommend Zao Makeup products to anybody who love to try and discover organic products. Zao Makeup has Ecocert organic certification this is what sets the brand apart from natural cosmetic, and non-certified organic cosmetic brands.

What do you think about Zao Makeup? Have you ever tried any Zao Makeup product? I would love to know your thoughts on Zao Makeup in comments. You can buy Zao Makeup products from their UK website, here.

Thank you,

SilkyResh

13 thoughts on “Zao Makeup Silk Foundation, Lip Polish and Nail Polish Review/Swatch

    • Thank you so much sweetie ❤ Yes I too loved the packaging, very unique one. Thank you for your lovely comments, I had missed you on my blog since last 3-4 days and I was also bit busy by going thru all others posts I stilll have few of your posts pending to read.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment!

